Byfrost
Latest Release
Of Death

Of Death

Release : 2011-06-24

Media :
CD / Vinyl

Members

HeavyHarms:
    guitars / vocals

R.I.P Meister :
    bass

Alkolust:
   drums

Latest News
No News available
Live
No Data available

Merging cold, dark, riffs with a touch of the melodic, BYFROST was formed in Bergen, Norway, in 2007 by guitarists HeavyHarms and R.I.P Meister.  With HeavyHarms taking vocals, the band recruited a drummer and bass player and recorded and released the “Byfrostmetal” EP in 2008.  As is often the case with a fledgling band, the four-piece underwent some personnel changes, and the definitive BYFROST lineup was established when R.I.P Meister switched over to five-string bass and the addition of HELLISH OUTCAST’s formidable drummer Alkolust made this a powerhouse trio to be reckoned with.

With a permanent line up now in place, BYFROST went on to play live both locally and throughout Europe, and in 2009 began work on their first full length album, “Black Earth”  which was recorded at the Conclave and Earshot Studios in Bergen, and was produced by Herbrand Larsen (ENSLAVED) and Bjørnar E. Nilsen (VULTURE INDUSTRIES, BLACK HOLE GENERATOR). With ENSLAVED’s Arve Isdal making a guest appearance on the track “Desire”, and with Artwork by Christian Sloan Hall, known for his work with artists such as TESTAMENT, DIMMU BORGIR, SLAYER etc., “Black Earth” was released in early 2010 on Painkiller Records to much critical acclaim.

It is virtually impossible not to bang your head when listening to a BYFROST performance, be it on a studio track or on a stage, and it is the band’s skillfully crafted material, superb musical skills and dynamic stage presence that saw the band selected for some of the most prestigious events in the Norwegian Metal calendar during 2010.  With appearances at the Hole in the Sky and Karmoygeddon Festivals, the launch of Terrorizer Magazine’s Norwegian Grindhouse venture, and, along with ENSLAVED, at a special concert to celebrate the 20th Anniversary of Bergen’s foremost venue, The Garage, BYFROST has consolidated its reputation as a live band that everyone wants to see.

In early 2011 BYFROST inked a deal with AFM Records, who are set to release the band’s sophomore album before the summer. The new album, to be titled of "Of Death'", was recorded once again in the Conclave and Earshot Studios in the band’s home town of Bergen, and will be produced by ENSLAVED’s Herbrand Larsen and VULTURE INDUSTRIES’ Bjornar Nilsen, who had also produced BYFROST’s debut album.
 

BYFROST - Of Death

AFM LP  349-1

AFM CD 349-2

Release Date: 2011-06-24

Media: CD/ LP


Pics:

byfrost_1.jpgbyfrost_2.jpgbyfrost_3.jpgbyfrost_4.jpg

No Video available.

Byfrost
Latest Release
Of Death

Of Death

Release : 24.06.2011

Media :
CD / Vinyl

Members

HeavyHarms:
    guitars / vocals

R.I.P Meister :
    bass

Alkolust:
   drums

Latest News
No News available
Live
No Data available

Kälte, Dunkelheit, Riffs und eine Prise Melodie vereinigend wurden Byfrost 2007 in Bergen, Norwegen von Gitarrist HeavyHarms und R.I.P. Meister gegründet. HeavyHarms übernahm den Gesang und die Band rekrutierte einen Drummer und einen Bassisten und nahm 2008 die „Byfrostmetal“ EP auf. Wie es so oft der Fall mit einer Band im Anfangsstadium ist, gab es beim Vierer ein paar personelle Veränderungen und das endgültige Byfrost Line-Up war gefunden, als R.I.P. Meister zum 5-Saiter-Bass wechselte und das Mitwirken von Hellish Outcast’s beeindruckendem Drummer Alkolust das Trio zu einer ernstzunehmenden Band machte.

Mit diesem festen Line-Up fingen Byfrost an, lokal und sogar europaweit aufzutreten und 2009 mit den Arbeiten an ihrem ersten kompletten Studioalbum „Black Earth“ zu beginnen, welches in den Conclave and Earshot Studios in Bergen aufgenommen und von Herbrand Larsen (Enslaved) und Bjørnar E. Nilsen (Vulture Industries, Black Hole Generator) produziert wurde. Enslaved’s Arve Isdal hatte einen Gastauftritt auf „Desire“ und Christian Sloan Hall, bekannt für seine Arbeiten mit Künstlern wie Testament, Dimmu Borgir, Slayer etc., zeigte sich für das Artwork verantwortlich. „Black Earth“ wurde Anfang 2010 mit vielen guten Kritiken über Painkiller Records veröffentlicht.

Es ist praktisch unmöglich nicht zu Headbangen, wenn man sich einen Byfrost Auftritt anhört, sei es auf einem Album oder auf der Bühne und es ist das handgemachte Material, überragende musikalische Fähigkeiten und eine dynamische Bühnenpräsenz die der Band Auftritte bei einigen der prestigeträchtigsten Events im norwegischen Metal Kalender 2010 verschaffte. Mit Auftritten bei „Hole in the sky“ und dem „Karmoygeddon Festival“, zusammen mit Enslaved bei einem Konzert zum 20ten Jubiläum von Bergen’s bekanntester Location „The Garage“ und mit der Eröffnung des norwegischen Grindhouse Projekts vom Terrorizer Magazin festigte Byfrost seinen Ruf als eine Live-Band, die jeder sehen möchte.
 

BYFROST - Of Death

AFM LP  349-1

AFM CD 349-2

Release Date: 24.06.2011

Format: CD/ Vinyl


Pics:

byfrost_1.jpgbyfrost_2.jpgbyfrost_3.jpgbyfrost_4.jpg

No Video available.