Ektomorf
Latest Release
Retribution

Retribution

Release : 2014-01-31

Media :
Ltd. Digi

Members

Zoltán Farkas:

guitars

Szabolcs Murvai:

bass

Tamás Schrottner:

guitars

Robert Jaksa:

drums

Live

2014-04-17 DE Hamburg

2014-04-18 NL Almelo

2014-04-19 CZ Budweis

2014-04-20 SZ Bratislava

2014-04-21 SK Banska Bystrica

2014-04-22 CZ Ostrava

2014-04-23 CZ Prag

2014-04-24 DE Nürnberg

2014-04-25 DE Wolnheim

2014-04-26 DE Adelsheim

read more

 

Consistency, integrity and quality are words that first comes to mind when you hear the name EKTOMORF. One and a half years after the “Black Flag” album, it’s time to welcome the newest piece of work by the band around charismatic frontman Zoli Farkas.

“Retribution” again is a first-class “fist in your face” album, displaying heavy grooves and sheer power in the best of ways. Refining and bringing things to perfection was the goal, and this has been achieved impressively.
 

On the song “Numb And Sick”, the band welcomes Ill Niño vocalist Cristian Machado as a guest, and his duet with Zoli give another new flavour to a record that clearly points out that EKTOMORF, even 20 years after its foundation in 1993, is still a raging, energetic force with the intensity of a bulldozer.

And the songs on “Retribution” will make their way into the band’s live set and become fan favourites quickly, be sure!

“Retribution” was again mixed and mastered y the band’s long time producer Tue Madsen (Antfarm studios).

 

EKTOMORF was founded in 1993 in Mezökovacsháza, Hungary, a small city near the Romanian border, by Zoltán "Zoli" Farkas. In the actual line-up Zoli - songwriter and mastermind of the band - is the only remaining founder member. The band is completed by Michael Rank (guitar), Szabolcs Murvai (bass) and Robert Jaksa (drums).

 

Due to his gipsy background Zoli saw himself confronted with racism and prejudices. But this didn’t hold the band back from establishing an international career. The breakthrough came, when EKTOMORF started their collaboration with Danish producer Tue Madsen in 2003. Madsen helped the band to find their very own, super fat, modern and powerful sound that EKTOMORF evolved since “Destroy” (2004) steadily.

 

EKTOMORF's lyrics reflect this situation and deal with discrimination, society, pain and anger but show a strong will to survive and overcome all problems. Their music combines the burning fire of the primal gipsy music with modern elements: groovy, down tuned guitar riffs and aggressive drums, supplemented by powerful and raw screaming vocals became their trademarks.

Regardless of all circumstances EKTOMORF established itself as one of the most successful Hungarian bands, well known for their intensive, energetic, mind blowing live shows. Playing extensive headliner tours and shows at the biggest European festivals (e.g. Wacken, With Full Force, Sziget, Rock am Ring) the band build up a strong fan base throughout Europe.

 

EKTOMORF - Retribution

AFM 481-9

Release Date: 2014-January-31

Media: Ltd. Digi


EKTOMORF - Black Flag

AFM CD 406-9

Release Date: 2012-08-31

Media: Ltd. Digipak


EKTOMORF - Unscarred

AFM SG 406-5

Release Date: 2012-08-10

Media: Digitally only.


EKTOMORF - The Acoustic

AFM CD 387-2

Release Date: 2012-02-17

Media: CD


EKTOMORF - Redemption

AFM CD 308-2

AFM CD 308-9

Release Date: 2010-12-17

Media: CD/ Ltd. Digipak

 


EKTOMORF - The Gipsy Way - EP

AFM SG 250-5

Release Date: 2010-06-25

Media: CD
 


EKTOMORF - What Doesn't Kill Me...(Festival Edition)

AFM CD 250-3

Release Date: 2010-06-04

Media: 2-CD


 


 

EKTOMORF - What Doesn't Kill Me...

AFM CD 250-2

AFM FBX 250-6

AFM CD 250-9

Release Date: 2009-03-20

Media: CD/ Ltd. Fanbox/ Ltd. Digipak


 

EKTOMORF - Destroy - ReRelease

AFM CD 266-2

Release Date: 2009-03-12

Media: CD


 


 

EKTOMORF - Instinct - ReRelease

AFM CD 267-2

Release Date: 2009-03-12

Media: CD


 

EKTOMORF - Outcast - ReRelease

AFM CD 269-2

Release Date: 2009-03-12

Media: CD


EKTOMORF - Live And Raw - You Get What You Give - ReRelease

AFM DCS 268-8

Release Date: 2009-03-12

Media: DVD/ CD-Set


Pics 2014:

EF_R-P02_small.jpgEF_R-P03_small.jpgEF_R-P04_small.jpgEF_R-P05_small.jpg

Pics:

EK_01.jpgEK_04.jpgEK_12.jpgEK_13.jpgEK_BF-P01.jpgEK_BF-P01_zoli.jpgEK_BF-P02.jpgEK_BF-P03.jpg

Ektomorf
Latest Release
Retribution

Retribution

Release : 31.01.2014

Media :
Ltd. Digi

Members

Zoltán Farkas:

guitars

Szabolcs Murvai:

bass

Tamás Schrottner:

guitars

Robert Jaksa:

drums

Live

17.12.2014 DE Berlin

18.12.2014 DE Frankfurt

19.12.2014 AT Hartberg

20.12.2014 DE Cham

21.12.2014 DE Bielefeld

read more

 

Beständigkeit, Integrität und Qualität sind die ersten Begriffe die einem bei Erwähnung von EKTOMORF einfallen. Eineinhalb Jahre nach dem "Black Flag" Album ist es an der Zeit, das neue Werk der Band um den charismatischen Frontmann Zoli Farkas willkommen zu heißen.

"Retribution" ist wieder ein erstklassiges "fist in your face"-Album, das eindrucksvoll die Verfeinerung des bandtypischen Stils zur Perfektion bringt. Die tonnenschweren Grooves, rohe Kraft und pure Intensität wurden erneut meisterhaft in Szene gesetzt von Produzent Tue Madsen (Antfarm Studios).
 

Beim Song "Numb And Sick" begrüßt die Band Ill Niño Sänger Cristian Machado als Gast. Sein Duett mit Zoli erweitert den Sound um eine weitere interessante Nuance.

Auch 20 Jahre nach Bandgründung sind EKTOMORF immer noch wütend und unerbittlich wie eh und je - kompromisslos und durchschlagskräftig wie in Bulldozer. Die Songs von "Retribution" werden sich bald im Liveset zu Fan-favoriten entwickeln, soviel dürfte sicher sein.

 

EKTOMORF wurde 1993 von Zoltán „Zoli“ Farkas in Mezökovacsháza, einer kleinen ungarischen Stadt nahe der rumänischen Grenze, gegründet. Heute ist Zoli - Songwriter, Gitarrist und Mastermind der Band - das einzige verbliebene Gründungsmitglied. Michael Rank (Gitarre), Szabolcs Murvai (Bass) und Robert Jaksa (Drums) vervollständigen aktuell das EKTOMORF-Lineup.

 

Der Sinti-Hintergrund von Bandleader Zoli sorgte dafür, dass sich EKTOMORF von Beginn an mit Rassismus und Vorurteilen konfrontiert sahen. Entgegen allen Widerständen hat es die Band aber geschafft, sich durch jahrelange harte Arbeit eine internationale Karriere aufzubauen. Der Durchbruch kam, als EKTOMORF 2003 erstmal mit Produzent Tue Madsen arbeiteten, der maßgeblich zur Findung des eigenen Sound beitrug.
 

EKTOMORFs Songtexte handeln von Diskriminierung, gesellschaftlichen Problemen, Schmerz und Hass, aber zeigen auch einen starken Willen, diese Missstände zu überwinden. Groovende, tiefer gestimmte Gitarren und aggressives Drumming, ergänzt durch kraftvolle und rohe Vocals, wurden zum Markenzeichen der Band.

Trotz aller Umstände etablierten sich EKTOMORF als eine der erfolgreichsten ungarischen Bands, die für ihre intensiven, energetischen und überwältigenden Live-Shows bekannt ist. Durch ausgedehnte Headliner Touren und Shows auf Europas größten Festivals (Wacken, With Full Force, Sziget, Rock am Ring) erspielte sich die Band eine starke Fanbase in ganz Europa.

 



 

 

EKTOMORF - Retribution

AFM 481-9

Release Date: 2014-January-31

Media: Ltd. Digi


EKTOMORF - Black Flag

AFM CD 406-9

Release Date: 31.08.2012

Format: Ltd. Digipak


EKTOMORF - Unscarred

AFM SG 406-5

Release Date: 10.08.2012

Format: Nur digital erhältlich.


EKTOMORF - The Acoustic

AFM CD 387-2

Release Date: 17.02.2012

Format: CD


 

EKTOMORF - Redemption

AFM CD 308-2

AFM CD 308-9

Release Date: 17.12.2010

Format: CD/ Ltd. Digipak


 

EKTOMORF - The Gipsy Way - EP

AFM SG 250-5

Release Date: 25.06.2010

Format: CD


 


 

EKTOMORF - What Doesn't Kill Me...(Festival Edition)

AFM CD 250-3

Release Date: 04.06.2010

Format: 2-CD


 


 

EKTOMORF - What Doesn't Kill Me...

AFM CD 250-2

AFM FBX 250-6

AFM CD 250-9

Release Date: 20.03.2009

Format: CD/ Ltd. Fanbox/ Ltd. Digipak


 

EKTOMORF - Destroy - ReRelease

AFM CD 266-2

Release Date: 12.03.2009

Format: CD


 


 

EKTOMORF - Instinct - ReRelease

AFM CD 267-2

Release Date: 12.03.2009

Format: CD


 

EKTOMORF - Outcast - ReRelease

AFM CD 269-2

Release Date: 12.03.2009

Format: CD


 

EKTOMORF - Live And Raw - You Get What You Give - ReRelease

AFM DCS 268-8

Release Date: 12.03.2009

Format: DVD/ CD-Set


Pics 2014:

EF_R-P02_small.jpgEF_R-P03_small.jpgEF_R-P04_small.jpgEF_R-P05_small.jpg

Pics:

EK_01.jpgEK_04.jpgEK_12.jpgEK_13.jpgEK_BF-P01.jpgEK_BF-P01_zoli.jpgEK_BF-P02.jpgEK_BF-P03.jpg