Jon Oliva's Pain
Latest Release
Festival

Festival

Release : 2010-02-19

Media :
CD/ Ltd. Digipak/ 2-Vinyl

Members

Jon Oliva:

vocals/keys

John Zahner:

keys

Shane French:

guitar

Matt LaPorte:

guitar

Kevin Rothney:

bass

Christopher Kinder:

drums

Live
No Data available

There is not much you cannot say about this metal legend! He's an excellent musician, a charasmatic singer, a straight and honest guy from the home next door, an idol, and a songwriter that never runs out of ideas. He is a man with a damn good laugh and great sense of humour. And he is the Mountain King!

Without any doubt, Jon Oliva has written music history, and, for sure, he still is! Being the mastermind of one of the most successful and influential bands in Heavy Metal history, SAVATAGE, this guy from New York has experienced a musical career that many others can only dream of and because of that his name live's on...now and forever!

But even though that has never been the limit for Jon, his unique way of writing songs has never followed current gendres or trends. Unlike many seasoned songwriters, Jon Oliva has always had the skill's to create something timeless and powerful!

Milestones such as “Streets” or “Gutter Ballet” have never been “in” or “out” – they simply are and remain unique and timeless. And so is the Mountain King himself. He is a strong character with many different sides, skills and faces that he loves to express not only within Savatage, but to the whole world through whatever channel available.

In 2004 Jon Oliva founded his Pain to present the musical idea's that have been trapped inside his mind and all around him. He express's that through timeless music and deep lyrics. This is the vehicle that allows JOP to take you on a powerful and spectacular musical ride .

A first JOP album, “Tage Mahal” was released in the spring of 2004, giving everyone the first impression of his new band. Jon Oliva `s Pain offer a great variety of emotions, ideas and powerful, epical song material without losing any of its originality. Straight forward and without boundaries, Oliva's music and message often steps into the realm of insanity!

Jon Oliva is a musical genious!

His daily insanity is waiting for all of us, ready and willing to drive us mad. It can be global things like terror as well as the tiny personal obstacles that can get on your nerves and make you freak out without warning.

And it can be Jon Oliva `s Pain that will make you headbang and laugh about it simultaneously!

At Audio Lab Studios, located in sunny Tampa/Florida, Jon Oliva and the band have found the right tunes and melodies to express this crazy world. They have created their “Maniacal Renderings” and forged another example of how much variety and uniqueness can be created in one CD. Oliva chose to write the album as a band, injecting idea's and musical parts from every member into each song. Nothing was off-limits and every piece of music would be considered.

The result is a CD with power, theatrical grace, fascinating emotions and the distinctive Mountain King-flair proves that you don`t necessarily have to go crazy in a negative way... you can just freak on what has been mixed and mastered at the famous Morrisound Studios in May, 2006!

For the title track of the album JOP have even used a 50 voice choir to make it sound as massive and as atmospheric as the Mountain King wanted it to be. Some other track's such as “Timeless Flight”, contain parts of Jon `s late brother Criss Oliva's music and riffs. “My wife discovered these tapes with Criss's music in a shoe box”, Jon explains. “It all came from the Gutter Ballet-period and I was about to cry when I heard it. Then she said to me I should use it for some new songs... I owe her for that.”

So “Maniacal Renderings” is a very personal and traditional album. And just like the old days, Oliva and the band sought to reach deep into the Savatage roots with alternate guitar tunings as was evident during the "Hall of the Mountain King" era.

To first give the world something to digest, a five song EP entitled “Straight - Jacket Memoirs” will be released on June 23. It will contain three brand new JOP songs plus two live songs, recorded during the “Tage Mahal”-tour in 2005/2006. And it will be the start of a spectacular summer festival season for JOP beginning with the Bang Your Head Festival (Balingen/Germany) on exactly this 23rd June. JON OLIVA´S PAIN will play almost all important festivals in Europe inlcuding Graspop, Earthshaker, Rock Harz and many more!

A co-headlining European tour in the fall will begin soon after the full CD release mid-September. JON OLIVA´S PAIN will be everywhere in 2006!

So prepare to go crazy for Jon Oliva's Pain and "Maniacal Renderings”!
 

JON OLIVA'S PAIN - Festival

AFM LP  288-1

AFM CD 288-2

AFM CD 288-9

Release Date: 2010-02-19

Media: 2-LP/ CD/ Ltd. Digipak


JON OLIVA'S PAIN - Global Warning

AFM LP  185-1

AFM CD 185-2

AFM CD 185-9

Release Date: 2008-03-22

Media: Picture Vinyl/ CD/ Ltd. Digipak


JON OLIVA'S PAIN - Maniacal Renderings

AFM CD 129-2

AFM CD 129-3

AFM CD 129-9

Release Date: 2006-09.01

Media: CD/ Metalcase/ Ltd. Digipak


JON OLIVA'S PAIN - Straight Jacket Memoirs - EP

AFM SG 129-5

Release Date: 2006-06-23

Media: CD


Pics:

JP_01.jpgJP_02.jpgJP_03.jpgJP_04.jpgJP_06.jpgJP_07.jpgJP_08.jpgJP_10.jpgJP_RTC-P01_small.jpgJP_RTC-P02_small.jpgJP_RTC-P03_small.jpgJP_RTC-P04_small.jpg

Live-Pics:

JP_live_02.jpgJP_live_04.jpgJP_live_06.jpgJP_live_08.jpgJP_live_11.jpgJP_live_12.jpgJP_live_14.jpgJP_live_16.jpgJP_live_18.jpgJP_live_20.jpgJP_live_22.jpg

Jon Oliva's Pain
Latest Release
Festival

Festival

Release : 19.02.2010

Media :
CD/ Ltd. Digipak/ 2-Vinyl

Members

Jon Oliva:

vocals/keys

John Zahner:

keys

Shane French:

guitar

Matt LaPorte:

guitar

Kevin Rothney:

bass

Christopher Kinder:

drums

Es gibt nicht viel, was man über den Mann aus New York nicht sagen könnte. Er ist ein exzellenter Musiker, ein charismatischer Sänger, ein ehrlicher, geradliniger Typ, ein Idol, ein Songwriter, dem niemals die Ideen ausgehen. Ein Mann mit einem verdammt guten und pikanten Sinn für Humor. Und er ist der Mountain King.

Ohne jeglichen Zweifel hat Jon Oliva Musikgeschichte geschrieben, und, auch das steht fest – er tut es immer noch. Als Mastermind einer der erfolgreichsten Metalbands aller Zeiten, Savatage, hat er eine Karriere vorzuweisen, von der die meisten anderen nur träumen können.

Und trotzdem hat Jon all dies nie als Limit betrachtet. Seine einzigartige Art und Weise, Songs zu schreiben, hat längst kein Ende erreicht. Im Gegensatz zu vielen so genannten zeitgemäßen Songwritern sind Jons Ideen stets zeitlos und für die Ewigkeit gewesen.

Meilensteine wie “Streets” oder “Gutter Ballet” sind zu keiner Zeit weder “in” noch “out” gewesen – sondern stets einzigartig. Und genauso ist auch der Mountain King höchstpersönlich: ein starker, nie langweilig werdender Charakter, der viele verschiedene Gesichter, Talente und Aspekte besitzt und diese auch gerne präsentiert. Nicht nur mit Savatage.

2004 gründete Jon Oliva seine Pain, um die Ideen in die Tat umzusetzen, die so lange in seinem Geist gefangen gehalten waren und um ihre Tiefe und Genialität in Texte und Melodien zu fassen. So offenbart sich dem Zuhörer ein facettenreiches, energiegeladenes musikalisches Spektakel, das er so schnell nicht vergessen wird.

Mit “Tage Mahal” wurde im Frühjahr 2004 das Debut von Jon Oliva `s Pain veröffentlicht und ein erster Eindruck von dem ermöglicht, was Herr Oliva so an Emotionen, Ideen und Sinn fürs Epische auch abseits von Savatage in sich trägt. Sich selbst treu und dennoch ohne Grenzen zeigt der Musiker dabei, dass Genie und Wahnsinn eng miteinander verwandt sind.

Und Jon Oliva ist für wahr ein musikalisches Genie!

Sein täglicher Wahnsinn wartet auf uns – bereit und willens, uns verrückt zu machen. Dabei können es globale Dinge wie Terror oder aber auch ganz persönliche Hindernisse sein, die uns auf die Nerven fallen und wegen denen wir ausflippen. Jon Oliva reflektiert sie für uns und schafft es, dass wir dazu auch noch headbangen und lachen.

In den Audio Lab Studios, im sonnigen Tampa/Florida, haben sich Jon Oliva und seine Jungs zurückgezogen, um die verrückte Welt um uns herum musikalisch zu erfassen. Sie haben dabei ihre “Maniacal Renderings” kreiert und damit Facettenreichtum und Einzigartigkeit erneut in eine Gummizelle gesperrt und sich paaren lassen. Oliva ist es dabei wichtig gewesen, das Album in Teamwork mit der Band entstehen zu lassen.

Das Ergebnis ist daher auch eine sehr geschlossene CD mit viel Power, theatralischem Anmut, faszinierenden Emotionen und dem unvergleichlichen Mountain King-Flair, der bereit ist, uns völlig ausflippen zu lassen – allerdings nicht unbedingt in einer negativen Art. Dieses Stück Musik, das in den berühmten Morrisound Studios im Mai 2006 gemastert wurde, wird euch definitiv verrückt machen! Freut euch drauf, es ist mit Bravour vorbereitet: für den Titeltrack des Albums wurde eigens ein 50-köpfiger Chor ins Studio gebeten, um größtmögliche Atmosphäre zu garantieren. Einige andere Nummern wie beispielsweise “Timeless Flight” beinhalten dafür alte Ideen von Jons verstorbenem Bruder Criss Oliva. „Meine Frau hat Tapes in einem alten Schuhkarton entdeckt”, beschreibt Jon. „Als ich die gehört habe, musste ich heulen. Sie stammten alle aus der Gutter Ballet-Zeit und waren wunderschön. Meine Frau meinte, ich solle die Takes doch verwenden. Ich glaube, ich liebe sie dafür.”

So ist “Maniacal Renderings” ein sehr persönliches Album geworden. Und wie in guten alten Zeiten orientiert es sich an traditionellen Savatage-Wurzeln und einer Gitarrenarbeit, wie sie letztmalig zur "Hall of the Mountain King"-Ära eingesetzt wurde.

Um der Welt einen ersten Eindruck vom verrückt-genialsten Spektakel des Jahres zu vermitteln, erscheint die EP “Straight - Jacket Memoirs” bereits am 23. Juni. Mit von der Partie sind drei brandneue Jon Oliva `s Pain-Nummern, ebenso wie zwei Livestücke, die während der Tour 2006 mitgeschnitten wurden. Die EP wird zugleich der fulminante Sommerstart sein, während dem Jon auf diversen Festivals (BYH, Earthshaker, Rock Harz, Graspop, etc.) zu sehen sein wird.

JON OLIVA'S PAIN - Festival

AFM LP  288-1

AFM CD 288-2

AFM CD 288-9

Release Date: 19.02.2010

Format: 2-LP/ CD/ Ltd. Digipak


JON OLIVA'S PAIN - Global Warning

AFM LP  185-1

AFM CD 185-2

AFM CD 185-9

Release Date: 22.03.2008

Format: Picture Vinyl/ CD/ Ltd. Digipak


JON OLIVA'S PAIN - Maniacal Renderings

AFM CD 129-2

AFM CD 129-3

AFM CD 129-9

Release Date: 01.09.2006

Format: CD/ Metalcase/ Ltd. Digipak


JON OLIVA'S PAIN - Straight Jacket Memoirs - EP

AFM SG 129-5

Release Date: 23.06.2006

Format: CD


Pics:

JP_01.jpgJP_02.jpgJP_03.jpgJP_04.jpgJP_06.jpgJP_07.jpgJP_08.jpgJP_10.jpgJP_RTC-P01_small.jpgJP_RTC-P02_small.jpgJP_RTC-P03_small.jpgJP_RTC-P04_small.jpg

Live-Pics:

JP_live_02.jpgJP_live_04.jpgJP_live_06.jpgJP_live_08.jpgJP_live_11.jpgJP_live_12.jpgJP_live_14.jpgJP_live_16.jpgJP_live_18.jpgJP_live_20.jpgJP_live_22.jpg