OZ
Latest Release
Burning Leather

Burning Leather

Release : 2011-11-18

Media :
CD

Members

Costello Hautamäki:

guitars

Mark Ruffneck:

drums

Ape DeMartini:

vocals

Jay C. Blade:

bass, vocals

Markku Petander:

guitars

In underground circles OZ enjoy an excellent reputation, but the normal metal fan (due to a long release pause the band made) will not necessarily be familiar with this Scandinavian heavy metal force. This will change soon, as the cult-band around vocalist Ape DeMartini will soon release their highly anticipated comeback album which is titled "Burning Leather" and contains brand new material and new recordings of classic tracks. Of course the band´s hits like "Turn The Cross Upside Down" and "Fire In The Brain" can be found here too.

"We decided to include new tracks and re-recorded old songs on "Burning Leather", because we wanted to show what OZ is about in 2011”, says drummer Mark Ruffneck. “It will be our first album since 1991 and there are whole new generations of heavy metal fans who do not even know our old songs. And for our old supporters, it is probably interesting to hear their favorites in new versions. In conjunction with old tracks and the new songs you get a package with "Burning Leather" that shows what OZ is today.”

To the new track "Dominator" a video clip was already published earlier this year.
"With the clip we wanted to make clear: OZ is back! Through a friend, we got in contact with Amir Chamdin, a renowned and award-winning video director, who has worked with acts such as The Cardigans, Mando Diao and The Hellacopters. The very same friend also introduced us to  Nicke Andersson (The Hellacopters), who helped us with mix and co-production of "Burning Leather". Amir wanted to make a heavy metal video in the 80s-style, and we simply let him implement his ideas,” Ruffneck leaves the developments of recent times to reminisce.

With "Burning Leather" scheduled for release on November 18, finally, the comeback album of OZ is near. And the burning leather glove on the cover artwork can also be symbolic of the enthusiasm that they display.

OZ formed in the late 70s in Nakkila, Finland. Their debut album "Heavy Metal Heroes" arrived in 1982. Only a year later, OZ implemented a milestone of Scandinavian heavy metal with "Fire In The Brain", whose influential effect should become obvious years later. Using the "Turn The Cross Upside Down" EP and its title track, OZ then gained the peak of their popularity. Even today it is very much this song that metal fans connect with OZ.
And the band, whose members by then had moved from Finland to Sweden, stayed reliable with album releases: "III Warning", "Decibel Storm" and "Roll The Dice" until 1991, before the band split up.

So now we can witness the big comeback of OZ, starting with "Burning Leather", which secures the masterful balance between past and present, and at the same time wakes a great desire to follow everything that this exceptional band might come up in the future.
 

OZ - Burning Leather

AFM CD 384-2

Release Date: 2011-11-18

Media: CD


oz_1.jpgoz_2.jpgoz_3.jpgoz_4.jpgoz_5.jpgoz_6.jpg

OZ
Latest Release
Burning Leather

Burning Leather

Release : 18.11.2011

Media :
CD

Members

Costello Hautamäki:

guitars

Mark Ruffneck:

drums

Ape DeMartini:

vocals

Jay C. Blade:

bass, vocals

Markku Petander:

guitars

In Underground-Kreisen genießen OZ einen exzellenten Ruf, dem normalen Heavy Metal Fan werden sie jedoch (aufgrund einer langen Veröffentlichungspause) nicht unbedingt geläufig sein. Aber das wird sich bald ändern, veröffentlicht die Kult-Truppe um Sänger Ape DeMartini doch demnächst ihr mit Spannung erwartetes Comeback-Album, welches den Titel „Burning Leather“ trägt und neben brandneuem Material auch Neueinspielungen von Bandklassikern beinhalten wird. Darunter natürlich auch Hits wie „Turn The Cross Upside Down“ und „Fire In The Brain“.

„Wir entschieden uns dafür, weil wir zeigen wollten, was OZ 2011 ausmacht. „Burning Leather“ ist unser erstes Album seit 1991 und es gibt ganz neue Generationen von Heavy Metal Fans, die unsere alten Songs gar nicht kennen. Und für unsere alten Supporter ist es wahrscheinlich interessant, ihre Favoriten in neuen Versionen zu hören. In Verbindung mit den neuen Songs bekommt man mit „Burning Leather“ ein Paket, das OZ so zeigt, wie wir heute sind“, kommentiert Mark Ruffneck.

Zum neuen Track „Dominator“ wurde Anfang des Jahres ein Videoclip vorab veröffentlicht.
„Mit dem Clip wollten wir ein Zeichen setzen: OZ sind zurück! Durch einen Freund kamen wir mit Amir Chamdin, einem bekannten und preisgekrönten Video-Regisseur, der schon mit Acts wie The Cardigans, Mando Diao und The Hellacopters arbeitete, in Kontakt. Eben jener Freund stellte auch den Kontakt zu Nicke Andersson (The Hellacopters) her, der Mix und Co-Produktion von „Burning Leather“ übernahm. Amir wollte ein Heavy Metal Video im 80er Jahre-Stil machen und wir ließen ihn einfach seine Ideen umsetzen“, lässt Ruffneck die Entwicklungen der jüngsten Zeit Revue passieren.

Mit „Burning Leather“ erscheint am 18. November endlich das Comeback-Album von OZ. Und der brennende Lederhandschuh auf dem Coverartwork kann sinnbildlich auch für den Enthusiasmus stehen, den die Band vermittelt.

OZ formierten sich Ende der 70er Jahre in Nakkila, Finnland. Ihr Debütalbum „Heavy Metal Heroes“ erschien 1982. Nur ein Jahr später setzten OZ mit „Fire In The Brain“ einen Meilenstein des skandinavischen Heavy Metals, dessen prägende Wirkung erst Jahre später deutlich werden sollte. Mit der „Turn The Cross Upside Down“ EP und dessen Titelsong erlangten OZ dann den Gipfel ihrer Popularität. Noch heute ist es gerade dieser Song, den Metalfans mit OZ verbinden.
Doch auf danach war auf die, inzwischen von Finnland nach Schweden übergesiedelten Metaller, Verlass: mit „III Warning“, „Decibel Storm“ und „Roll The Dice“ folgten bis 1991 weitere OZ Alben, bevor sich die Band auflöste.

Nun also das große Comeback in Form von „Burning Leather“, das die meisterhafte Balance von Vergangenheit und Gegenwart darstellt und gleichzeitig große Lust auf alles macht, was von dieser außergewöhnlichen Band noch kommen wird.
 

OZ - Burning Leather

AFM CD 384-2

Release Date: 18.11.2011

Format: CD


oz_1.jpgoz_2.jpgoz_3.jpgoz_4.jpgoz_5.jpgoz_6.jpg