The New Black
Latest Release
A Monster's Life

A Monster's Life

Release : 2016-02-26

Media :
CD

Members

Fludid:
    vocals

Fabian Schwarz:
    guitars

Christof Leim:
    guitars

Günt Auschrat:
    bass

Chris Weiß:
    drums

Live

2016-02-26 DE Würzburg

2016-02-27 DE Iserlohn

2016-03-26 DE Wiesloch

2016-03-30 DE München

2016-04-01 DE Siegen

2016-04-02 DE Düsseldorf

2016-04-08 CH Wetzikon

2016-04-15 DE Viersen

2016-04-16 DE Wetzlar

2016-05-13 DE Hamburg

read more

The New Black - A Monster's Life

 

“This time for real.” Everybody's using this phrase generously, nobody really means it, but it sounds good. Not for The New Black, though. When a band like this is saying “this time for real”, it comes from a bunch of musicians that released three records since 2009, that played Wacken and Rock am Ring and that shared stages with the likes of AC/DC, Black Label Society and Alter Bridge. So what that hell has not been „for real“ before?

 

So this time for real. For these Heavy Rockers it means: Working their asses off with a real producer in a real studio. Harder than ever. “We've reached a limit after self-producing our first three albums,” guitarist Christof Leim explains. “At some point you just go in circles, soundwise and with the songwriting.” The New Black however did not ask just any producer for the sake of it. They recorded with Danish icon Jacob Hansen, a proven master of kick ass Rock, the guy Volbeat commited to ever since their first album. Naturally, The New Black and a producer like that get along like a house on fire. Working on the album together in The New Black's hometown Würzburg and in the Danish city of Ribe is what rocketed the band onto an entirely new level. “The cooporation was totally worth it,” main songwriter Fabian Schwarz agrees. “They're still our songs, but they're better and they sound better, too. At some point, you lose focus, you are too close. Some tracks are two years in the making or have been played live already which makes you focus on your own parts naturally. That's why even the biggest bands work with producers.” Now, also The New Black did, in order to get that important outside perspective.

 

The results? They jump right at you. “A Monster's Life” sounds like an album should sound that starts off with a smasher called “Long Time Coming”: As if the three years since the last record steered the band to this singular point. The New Black are still The New Black. Only much bigger. The trinity of heaviness, melody and groove has new kings, the songs are built to last and highly explosive, the production is massive on an international level. Hansen neither gave the band a typical Metal edge nor a classic Hard Rock sound, but chose to take the middle way. The nonchalant, too-cool-for-school Heavy Rock kick in the ass is still in full effect. The music has just put on a new black shining leather jacket, if you will – and still works fine with a few cans of beer.

 

“Ten tracks, no bullshit, no dead weights”, vocalist Fludid sums up the fourth album's fundament. By now, The New Black can offer more than enough unique bravado to fearlessly step into any ring. Said opener “Long Time Coming” is self-confidently sowing the fields of Heavy Rock with enthusiastic uptempo riffing and a boldly anthemic chorus, “Blockbuster Life” convinces with breakneck speed and gang shouts. “With A Grin” is stomping through town like a monster only to erupt into a capital XXL chorus before the atmospheric “Send In The Clowns” throws in some epic hooks. Talking about epic: “That's Your Poison, Not Mine” delivers a chorus written for stadiums. Seriously. In the loose rocking “Dead In The Water”, The New Black even sing about all those who claim that the band won‘t go anywhere anyway – and how much fun the five-piece has regardless.

 

The New Black put all their hearts as well as an incredible amount of time and energy into this record. They went for broke, all in – and now they reap what they sowed. Aside the enviably thick guitar sound and the ballsy drums, Hansen‘s production is predominantly highlighting Fludid's impressive vocals. “He's our trump card anyway”, bass player Günt Auschrat and drummer Chris Weiss add with quite some understatement. This time around, they have more than one trick up their sleeves. Just like the huge lizard on the album cover that can't wait to trample down Tokyo, “A Monster's Life” will gather momentum and will shake our floors – on the record as well as on their tour early 2016. This time for real indeed.

The New Black - A Monster's Life

Release Date: 2016-02-26

Format: CD


THE NEW BLACK - III: Cut Loose

AFM 445-9

Release Date: 2013-March-15th

Media: Digipack

 


THE NEW BLACK - II: Better In Black

AFM CD 310-2

AFM CD 310-9

Release Date: 2011-01-21

Media: CD/ Ltd. Digipak

 


THE NEW BLACK - The New Black

AFM CD 255-9

Release Date: 2009-01-23

Media: Ltd. Digipak


Pics:

NB_AML_P01_small_(c)ChrisWeiss.jpgNB_AML_P03_small_(c)ChrisWeiss.jpgNB_AML_P04_small_(c)ChrisWeiss.jpgNB_AML_P05_small_(c)ChrisWeiss.jpgNB_III_P01.jpgNB_III_P01b.jpgNB_III_P02.jpgNB_III_P03.jpgNB_III_P04.jpgScreenshot Sharkpool - The New Black.jpeg

Live-Pics:

AFM_Topbanner_DO.jpgAFM_Topbanner_Vore.jpgThe_New_Black-livepics-1006281525-0.jpgThe_New_Black-livepics-1006281525-1.jpgThe_New_Black-livepics-1006281525-2.jpgThe_New_Black-livepics-1006281525-3.jpgThe_New_Black-livepics-1006281525-4.jpg

The New Black
Latest Release
A Monster's Life

A Monster's Life

Release : 26.02.2016

Media :
CD

Members

Fludid:
    vocals

Fabian Schwarz:
    guitars

Christof Leim:
    guitars

Günt Auschrat:
    bass

Chris Weiß:
    drums

The New Black - A Monster's Life

 

„Diesmal richtig.“ Sagen viele, meint aber kaum jemand ernst. Klingt eben gut und ist allemal ein guter Aufhänger. Bei The New Black läuft es allerdings wieder mal anders. Wenn diese Band davon spricht, es „diesmal richtig“ zu machen, dann kommt das von ein paar Typen, die seit 2009 drei Platten veröffentlicht haben, die schon in Wacken und bei Rock am Ring gespielt, die sich die Bühne mit AC/DC, Volbeat, Black Label Society und Alter Bridge geteilt haben. Was, zum Henker, war denn vorher nicht „richtig“?

 

Aber gut. Diesmal also richtig. Das heißt für die Heavy Rocker vor allem eines: Mit einem richtigen Produzenten in einem richtigen Studio härter an den Songs zu arbeiten als je zuvor. „Nach drei selbstproduzierten Alben sind wir an eine Grenze gestoßen. Irgendwann dreht man sich im Kreis, soundmäßig und kompositorisch“, erklärt Gitarrist Christof Leim. The New Black gingen für ihr viertes Album nicht zu irgendeinem Produzenten, sondern nahmen mit Jacob Hansen auf. Der Däne gilt als unangefochtener Meister des druckvollen Rock-Fachs, dem bereits Volbeat alle ihre Veröffentlichungen anvertraut haben. Das passt natürlich zum TNB-Sound wie der merkwürdig oft zitierte Arsch auf den Eimer. So katapultierte die Produktion in der Band-Heimatstadt Würzburg und im dänischen Ribe The New Black auf ein komplett neues Level. „Die Zusammenarbeit hat sich absolut gelohnt“, bestätigt Hauptsongwriter Fabian Schwarz. „Es sind immer noch unsere Songs, aber sie sind besser und klingen besser. Irgendwann verliert man eben den Blick, man ist zu nah dran. An manchen Stücken bastelt man mitunter zwei Jahre oder spielt sie sogar schon live und hat dann vor allem seine eigenen Parts vor der Nase. Deshalb arbeiten sogar die größten Bands mit Produzenten.“ Und jetzt auch The New Black. Für den Blick von außen, um nicht im eigenen Saft zu schmoren.

 

Was das gebracht hat? Tja, das ist tatsächlich unüberhörbar. „A Monster's Life“ klingt wie eine Platte klingen sollte, die mit einem Stück namens „Long Time Coming“ beginnt: Als hätten die drei Jahre seit dem letzten Album auf diesen singulären Punkt hingesteuert, sind The New Black immer noch The New Black. Nur in größer. Das Triumvirat aus Härte, Melodie und Groove hat neue Könige, die Songs sind gnadenlos auf den Punkt gezüchtet und explosiv, der Sound ist druckvoll und international. Der Trumpf: Hansen hat der Band weder eine typische Metal-Produktion verpasst noch einen klassischen Hard-Rock-Klang, sondern punktgenau die goldene Mitte getroffen. Die lässig-schweinecoole Heavy-Rock-Keule ist nach wie vor Gesetz, die Musik hat sich lediglich eine ziemlich edle und massive neue Lederjacke übergezogen, wenn man so will. Und das funktioniert, ganz im Vertrauen, auch noch zu dem einen oder anderen Dosenbier.

 

„Zehn Nummern, kein Bullshit, kein Ballast“, fasst Sänger Fludid den Fokus der vierten Scheibe zusammen. Längst bringen The New Black genug eigenständiges Bravado mit, um selbstbewusst in jeden Ring zu steigen. „Long Time Coming“ bestellt als Auftakt gleich mal das Heavy-Rock-Feld mit euphorischem Uptempo-Geriffe und einem frech hymnischen Refrain, „Blockbuster Life“ gefällt mit hohem Tempo und Gangshouts. „With A Grin“ stampft wie ein Monster durch die Innenstadt und gipfelt in einem kapitalen XXL-Chorus, bevor das gefühlvolle „Send In The Clowns“ bei aller Atmosphäre die epischen Hooks nicht vergisst. Apropos episch: „That's Your Poison, Not Mine“ fährt mal so eben einen Chorus auf, der offensichtlich für Stadien geschrieben wurde. Wer kann, der kann. In „Dead In The Water“ singen The New Black sogar zu einem Riff aus dem Handgelenk von all den Stimmen, die behaupten, dass es die Band eh zu nichts bringen wird – und davon, welchen Heidenspaß das Quintett trotzdem hat.

 

The New Black haben massig Herzblut, Zeit und Energie in die Scheibe gesteckt und dabei viel auf eine Karte gesetzt. „All in“ – und dann wird abgeräumt. Neben dem beneidenswert wuchtigen Gitarrensound und den verschwenderisch saftigen Drums bringt Hansens Produktion vor allem den starken Gesang von Fludid besser denn je zur Geltung. „Der ist ohnehin eine Trumpfkarte“, stapeln Bassist Günt Auschrat und Drummer Chris Weiss unisono tief. Diesmal haben die Herren nämlich eindeutig mehr als eine Trumpfkarte im Ärmel. Wie die riesige Echse auf dem Cover, die sich schon diebisch darauf freut, gleich ganz Tokio plattzumachen, wird „A Monster's Life“ Anlauf nehmen und die Wände wackeln lassen – auf Platte ebenso wie auf Tour im Frühjahr. Diesmal eben richtig...

 

 

The New Black - A Monster's Life

Release Date: 2016-02-26

Format: CD


THE NEW BLACK - III: Cut Loose

AFM 445-9

Release Date: 2013-March-15th

Media: Digipack

 


 

THE NEW BLACK - II: Better In Black

AFM CD 310-2

AFM CD 310-9

Release Date: 21.01.2011

Format: CD/ Ltd. Digipak


 

THE NEW BLACK - The New Black

AFM CD 255-9

Release Date: 23.01.2009

Format: Ltd. Digipak


Pics:

NB_AML_P01_small_(c)ChrisWeiss.jpgNB_AML_P03_small_(c)ChrisWeiss.jpgNB_AML_P04_small_(c)ChrisWeiss.jpgNB_AML_P05_small_(c)ChrisWeiss.jpgNB_III_P01.jpgNB_III_P01b.jpgNB_III_P02.jpgNB_III_P03.jpgNB_III_P04.jpgScreenshot Sharkpool - The New Black.jpeg

Live-Pics:

AFM_Topbanner_DO.jpgAFM_Topbanner_Vore.jpgThe_New_Black-livepics-1006281525-0.jpgThe_New_Black-livepics-1006281525-1.jpgThe_New_Black-livepics-1006281525-2.jpgThe_New_Black-livepics-1006281525-3.jpgThe_New_Black-livepics-1006281525-4.jpg