U.D.O.
Latest Release
Live From Moscow

Live From Moscow

Release : 2014-05-23

Media :
BD/2-CD Digipak, Gtf. Tricolor 3-Vinyl, DVD 2-CD Digipak

Members

Vocals:

Udo Dirkschneider

Bass:

Fitty Wienhold

Guitar:

Andrey Smirnov

Guitar:

Kasperi Heikkinen

Drums:

Francesco Jovino
 

U.D.O.’s newest slab of metal, “Steelhammer”, is loud and proud proof that it’s possible for a veteran road warrior to learn some new tricks.

With a career that began in 1987 following vocalist Udo Dirkschneider’s “forced” departure from the legendary Accept, U.D.O. has enjoyed well over two decades in the spotlight. Regardless of changes in the metal scene or the U.D.O line-up, the band has never deviated from Dirkschneider’s vision of serving up traditional balls-to-the-wall, no-nonsense heavy metal. From the “Animal House” debut (‘87), through the shred of “Timebomb” (‘91), the old school approach of “Holy” (‘99), the pounding success of “Mastercutor” (‘07), and the more modernized sound of “Rev-Raptor “ (‘11), U.D.O. have maintained a reputation for delivering the goods every time they unleash a new album. “Steelhammer” is no exception, and it marks a bold new chapter in U.D.O. history.

“Steelhammer”  is the ultimate back-to-basics U.D.O. record. The exit of long time guitarist /producer Stefan Kaufmann – Dirkschneider’s partner-in-crime as far back as the Accept days – and guitarist Igor Gianola gave Dirkschneider, bassist Fitty Wienhold and drummer Francesco Jovino the opportunity to rediscover and rebuild the U.D.O. sound. As a result the trademark Kaufmann groove of the last several albums is gone on “Steelhammer”, replaced by a much warmer and more organic metal vibe.

 “I just had this strong deja vu of how we felt back in the old days and it inspired me to go kind of back to the roots with this album,” Dirkschneider admits. “When Stefan left it was like being thrown into cold water for the first as he took care of the production. But then we sat together, had a few drinks and chats and somehow this situation reminded us of the old days. We felt like fresh young kids again that face something that is quite new for them but who are so excited about everything. And as we started working we suddenly saw it was like when you learn how to ride a bicycle; you never forget how to do it. I had a production company with Michael Wagener years ago, so I was able to do “Steelhammer” because of that experience. It was like doing the same kind of production as we did in the old days and it felt like being back – in any possible way. “Steelhammer” is a new start for U.D.O. And at the same time it feels like being back home to where we belong”.

Dirkschneider and Kaufmann remain friends after almost 40 years; only their working relationship has come to an end because of Kaufmann’s health issues. At the same time, Dirkschneider found a new writing partner in Wienhold and the pair ended up writing the entire “Steelhammer” record together after 15 years of sharing stages and studio time.

“Steelhammer” also boasts the entrance of two new guitarists to the U.D.O. camp; Russia-born shredder Andrey Smirnov and Finnish axe-slinger Kasperi Heikkinen. The pair were chosen from 300 demo tapes submitted for consideration. The album was well on its way to being written by the time Smirnov was called on to audition, and he ended up recording all the guitars on “Steelhammer” over a three week period. Heikkinen was brought in after the recordings were complete but has already cemented himself as a full member of U.D.O. in time for the band’s North American tour.

 Reflecting on what U.D.O. has accomplished with “Steelhammer”, Dirkschneider can only think positive thoughts for the future. The band was nowhere near dead or dying when work began on the new album, but the end result is better than what he or anyone else had expected going in.“What I like about the new album is that it's got everything on it; fast songs (‘Basta Ya’, ‘Death Ride’, ‘Stay True’), a real ballad (‘Heavy Rain’), and some up-tempo songs (‘Time Keeper’, ‘King Of Mean’, ‘Metal Machine’, ‘Steelhammer’),” says Dirkschneider. “The good thing is that after 14 albums with U.D.O. and 10 albums with Accept - and don’t get me wrong - I don’t think ‘Oh, I have to be really heavy metal on this new album.’ We’re not writing any blues or boogie stuff, we’re still doing metal music, but we’re open to everything. It doesn’t matter to me. If the song needs a triangle or a flute, it’ll get one (laughs).”

U.D.O. - Live From Moscow

AFM 502-0

AFM 502-1

AFM 502-7

Release Date: 2014-05-23

Media: BD/2-CD Digipak, Gtf. Tricolor 3-Vinyl, DVD 2-CD DVD

 


U.D.O. - Steelhammer

AFM 440-1

AFM 440-2

AFM 440-6

AFM 440-9

Release Date: 2013-May-24

Gatefold Vinyl, CD, Fanpackage, Ltd. Digipak


U.D.O. - Best Of

AFM 434-2

Release Date: 2013-March-22

Media: CD, Vinyl


U.D.O. - Live From Russia

AFM 435-3

Release Date: 2013-March-22

Media: 2-CD


U.D.O. - Animal House

AFM 427-2

AFM 427-1

AFM 427-11

Release Date: 2013-February-15th

Media: CD, Gtf. Blue 2-Vinyl, Gtf. Yellow 2-Vinyl


U.D.O. - Mean Machine

AFM 428-2

AFM 428-1

AFM 428-11

Release Date: 2013-February-15th

Media: CD, Gtf. Red Vinyl, Gtf. Grey Vinyl


U.D.O. - Faceless World

AFM 429-2

AFM 429-1

AFM 429-11

Release Date: 2013-February-15th

Media: CD, Gtf. White 2-Vinyl, Gtf. Black 2-Vinyl

 


U.D.O. - Timebomb

AFM 430-2

AFM 430-1

AFM 430-11

Release Date: 2013-February-15th

Media: CD, Gtf. Blue Vinyl, Gtf. Orange Vinyl


U.D.O. - No Limits

AFM 432-2

Release Date: 2012 - Dec - 07

CD


U.D.O. - Solid

AFM 431-2

Release Date: 2012 - Dec - 07

Media: CD


U.D.O. - Holy

AFM 433-2

Release Date: 2012 - Dec - 07

Media: CD


U.D.O. - Man And Machine

AFM 436-2

Release Date: 2012 - Dec - 07

Media: CD


U.D.O. - Live In Sofia

AFM CD 410-0

AFM DCS 410-7

Release Date: 2012-11-09

Media: Blueray/2-CD, DVD/2-CD


U.D.O. - Celebrator

AFM CD 407-9

Release Date: 2012-05-04

Media: Ltd. 2-Digi Box


U.D.O. - Rev-Raptor

AFM LP  326-1

AFM CD 326-2

AFM CD 326-9

Release Date: 2011-05-20

Media: LP/ CD/ Ltd. Digipak

 


U.D.O. - Leatherhead - EP

AFM SG 326-5

Release Date: 2011-04-08

Media: CD

 


 

U.D.O. - Dominator

AFM LP  258-1

AFM CD 258-2

AFM CD 258-9

Release Date: 2009-08-21

Media: LP/ CD/ Ltd. Digipak


 

U.D.O. - Infected - EP

AFM CD 258-5

Release Date: 2009-06-26

Media: CD


U.D.O. - Metallized

AFM CD 199-9

Release Date: 2007-11-30

Media: Ltd. Digipak


U.D.O. - Mastercutor

AFM CD 159-2

AFM CD 159-9

Release Date: 2007-05-18

Media: CD/ Ltd. Digibook


U.D.O. - The Wrong Side Of Midnight - EP

AFM SG 159-5

Release Date: 2007-04-27

Media: CD


U.D.O. - Mission No. X

AFM CD 095-2

AFM CD 095-9

Release Date: 2005-09-30

Media: CD/ Black Edition


U.D.O. - 24/7 - EP

AFM SG 095-5

Release Date: 2005-06-27

Media: CD


U.D.O. - Thunderball

AFM CD 077-2

AFM CD 077-9

Release Date: 2004-03-29

Media: CD/ Ltd. Digibook


U.D.O. - Thundervision

AFM DVD 077-5

Release Date: 2004-03-15

Media: DVD


U.D.O. - Nailed To Metal - Live Album

AFM CD 070-2

Release Date: 2003-08-25

Media: CD


U.D.O. - Nailed To Metal

AFM DCS 070-7

AFM DCS 070-8

Release Date: 2003-05-28

Media: DVD/ CD/DVD-Set


 


Pics 2013:

UDO_Promo2012-1.jpgUDO_Promo2012-2.jpgUDO_Promo2012-3.jpgUDO_Promo2012-4.jpg

Old Pics:

udo_02.jpgudo_03.jpgudo_04.jpgudo_06.jpgudo_07.jpgudo_08.jpgudo_11.jpgudo_12.jpgudo_13.jpgudo_22.jpgudo_23.jpgudo_24.jpgudo_26.jpgudo_27.jpgudo_28.jpgudo_30.jpgudo_31.jpgudo_32.jpgudo_42.jpgudo_43.jpgudo_44.jpgudo_51.jpgudo_52.jpgudo_53.jpgudo_55.jpgudo_56.jpgudo_58.jpg

U.D.O.
Latest Release
Live From Moscow

Live From Moscow

Release : 23.05.2014

Media :
BD/2-CD Digipak, Gtf. Tricolor 3-Vinyl, DVD 2-CD Digipak

Members

Vocals:

Udo Dirkschneider

Bass:

Fitty Wienhold

Guitar:

Andrey Smirnov

Guitar:

Kasperi Heikkinen

Drums:

Francesco Jovino
 

U.D.O.s neuer Metal-Vorschlaghammer, "Steelhammer", ist der wohl lauteste Beweis dafür, dass auch ein Rock-Veteran noch mit taufrischen Tricks aufwarten kann

Weit über zwei Jahrzehnte dauert die U.D.O.-Ära inzwischen an. Begonnen hat sie im Jahr 1987 als Udo Dirkschneider bei ACCEPT heraus komplimentiert wurde und mit U.D.O. seine eigene Band ins Leben rief, die sich längst - und völlig ungeachtet der Besetzungswechsel, die es immer mal gab - zu einem der markantesten Trademarks der internationalen Rockszene etabliert hat. Seine Stimme ist und bleibt unverkennbar. Wohl keine andere Stimmfarbe dieser Welt bringt eine so straighte und unverwüstliche Attitüde mit wie die seine - "balls to the wall" eben. Egal ob mit dem 87er Debüt "Animal House", der Shred-Attacke "Timebomb" (1991), dem old-schooligen "Holy" (1999) oder dem etwas moderner anmutenden "Mastercutor" im Jahr 2007, U.D.O. gelten als eine DER Institutionen der härter musizierenden Musikwelt und zeigen sich dabei traditionell und wandelbar zugleich. So auch mit dem neuesten Streich "Steelhammer". Ein neues U.D.O.-Kapitel beginnt mit dem Album, ohne dabei auf urtypische Trademarks zu verzichten.

"Steelhammer" ist die ultimative "back to the roots"-Platte, die logischste aller Fortsetzungen in der Geschichte U.D.O.s. Der Ausstieg des langjährigen Gitarristen und Produzenten Stefan Kaufmann – Udos Weggefährte in alten ACCEPT-Zeiten bereits – und Gitarrist Igo Gianola gab Dirkschneider gezwungenermaßen den Anstoß, U.D.O. Soundtechnisch völlig neu aufzustellen. Gemeinsam mit Bassist Fitty Wienhold und Schlagzeuger Francesco Jovino entwickelte sich der sehr Groove-orientierte Klang von Kaufmanns Produktionsarbeit in einen sehr viel wärmeren und organischeren. 

"Ich erlebte so manches Deja Vu während der Produktion und fühlte mich wie in eine Zeitmaschine gesetzt und zurück in die Anfangstage transportiert", beschreibt Udo Dirkschneider, was er während der Entstehung von "Steelhammer" erlebte. "Als Stefan die Band aus gesundheitlichen Gründen verlassen musste, wurden wir quasi von einem Tag auf den nächsten ins kalte Wasser geworfen. Es waren nun wir, die wir uns selbst um die Produktion kümmern sollten. Dann setzen wir uns zusammen, tauschten Ideen aus und hatten ein paar Drinks zusammen – und genau dieses Szenario war die Zeitmaschine, mit der wir uns zurückversetzt in die alten Tage fühlten. Wir spürten wie wir damals als Jungspunde ähnlich im kalten Wasser ruderten und etwas ganz Neues, ganz Großes in Angriff nehmen würden. Die Aufregung kam in uns zurück und die Stimmung übertrug sich auf die kompletten Studioarbeiten.  Ich hatte ganz zu Anfang ja mal eine Produktionsfirma mit Michael Wagener und hatte dabei bereits einige Erfahrungen gesammelt – die erwachten so nach und nach alle wieder zum Leben. Man verlernt das Fahrradfahren nicht, wenn man es einmal beherrscht hat. Genauso ist es mit der Studioarbeit. Wir begannen also, alles genau wie damals zu machen – und schufen genau dadurch letztendlich nun etwas völlig Neues im Zusammenhang mit U.D.O. - irgendwie bin ich wieder zuhause."

Nach über 40 Jahren Zusammenarbeit bleiben Dirkschneider und Kaufmann gute Freunde. Lediglich ihre Zusammenarbeit musste aufgrund Kaufmanns schwerwiegender gesundheitlicher Probleme zu einem Ende finden. Dirkschneider fand in Bassist Wienhold einen neuen "partner in crime" - nach über 15 Jahren gemeinsamer Bandgeschichte endeten die beiden nun damit, ein Album gemeinsam zu schreiben. 

"Steelhammer" markiert auch den Einstieg zweier neuer Gitarristen – dem russischen Andrey Smirnov und dem Finnen Kasperi Heikkinen. Die beiden wurden aus über 300 Bewerbern ausgewählt als das Album bereits so gut wie fertig war. Smirnov wurde kurzerhand zu einer Audition einberufen und endete unmittelbar danach als neues Bandenmitglied. Heikkinen stieß erst zur Band, nachdem die Aufnahmen im Studio komplett beendet waren und gibt sein Debüt auf der derzeit laufenden Nordamerikatour. 

Bereits jetzt lässt sich für Udo Dirkschneider ein ausschließlich positives Resümee ziehen: er empfindet U.D.O. Als neugeboren. "Was ich an dem Album so mag ist, dass es sehr abwechslungsreich ist. Wir haben schnelle Nummern (‘Basta Ya’, ‘Death Ride’, ‘Stay True’), eine richtige Ballade  (‘Heavy Rain’), und einige Uptempo-Songs (‘Timekeeper’, ‘King Of Mean’, ‘Metal Machine’, ‘Steelhammer’),” so Dirkschneider. “Nach 14 Alben mit U.D.O. und 10 mit ACCEPT habe ich einfach nicht mehr das Gefühl – und versteht mich jetzt nicht falsch – auf Gedeih und Verderb ganz furchtbar "Heavy Metal" sein zu müssen. Wir können auch mal bluesig oder groovend. Unser Trademark haben wir ohnehin längst etabliert und es funktioniert in den unterschiedlichsten Tempi und Rhythmen. Falls wir mal das Gefühl haben sollten, ein Song würde dank einer Flöte noch besser klingen, würde ich vermutlich sogar die inzwischen einbauen (lacht)."

U.D.O. - Live From Moscow

AFM 502-0

AFM 502-1

AFM 502-7

Release Date: 2014-05-23

Media: BD/2-CD Digipak, Gtf. Tricolor 3-Vinyl, DVD 2-CD DVD

 


U.D.O. - Steelhammer

AFM 440-1

AFM 440-2

AFM 440-6

AFM 440-9

Release Date: 2013-May-24

Gatefold Vinyl, CD, Fanpackage, Ltd. Digipak


U.D.O. - Best Of

AFM 434-2

Release Date: 2013-March-22

Media: CD, Vinyl


U.D.O. - Live From Russia

AFM 435-3

Release Date: 2013-March-22

Media: 2-CD


U.D.O. - Animal House

AFM 427-2

AFM 427-1

AFM 427-11

Release Date: 2013-February-15th

Media: CD, Gtf. Blue 2-Vinyl, Gtf. Yellow 2-Vinyl


U.D.O. - Mean Machine

AFM 428-2

AFM 428-1

AFM 428-11

Release Date: 2013-February-15th

Media: CD, Gtf. Red Vinyl, Gtf. Grey Vinyl


U.D.O. - Faceless World

AFM 429-2

AFM 429-1

AFM 429-11

Release Date: 2013-February-15th

Media: CD, Gtf. White 2-Vinyl, Gtf. Black 2-Vinyl

 


U.D.O. - Timebomb

AFM 430-2

AFM 430-1

AFM 430-11

Release Date: 2013-February-15th

Media: CD, Gtf. Blue Vinyl, Gtf. Orange Vinyl


U.D.O. - No Limits

AFM 432-2

Release Date: 2012 - Dec - 07

CD


U.D.O. - Solid

AFM 431-2

Release Date: 2012 - Dec - 07

Media: CD


U.D.O. - Holy

AFM 433-2

Release Date: 2012 - Dec - 07

Media: CD


U.D.O. - Man And Machine

AFM 436-2

Release Date: 2012 - Dec - 07

Media: CD


U.D.O. - Live In Sofia

AFM CD 410-0

AFM DCS 410-7

Release Date: 09.11.2012

Format: Blueray/2-CD, DVD/2-CD


U.D.O. - Celebrator

AFM CD 407-9

Release Date: 04.05.2012

Format: Ltd. 2-Digi Box


 

U.D.O. - Rev-Raptor

AFM LP  326-1

AFM CD 326-2

AFM CD 326-9

Release Date: 20.05.2011

Format: LP/ CD/ Ltd. Digipak


U.D.O. - Leatherhead - EP

AFM SG 326-5

Release Date: 08.04.2011

Format: CD


 

U.D.O. - Dominator

AFM LP  258-1

AFM CD 258-2

AFM CD 258-9

Release Date: 21.08.2009

Format: LP/ CD/ Ltd. Digipak


 

U.D.O. - Infected - EP

AFM CD 258-5

Release Date: 26.06.2009

Format: CD


U.D.O. - Metallized

AFM CD 199-9

Release Date: 30.11.2007

Format: Ltd. Digipak


U.D.O. - Mastercutor

AFM CD 159-2

AFM CD 159-9

Release Date: 18.05.2007

Format: CD/ Ltd. Digibook


U.D.O. - The Wrong Side Of Midnight - EP

AFM SG 159-5

Release Date: 27.04.2007

Format: CD


U.D.O. - Mission No. X

AFM CD 095-2

AFM CD 095-9

Release Date: 30.09.2005

Format: CD/ Black Edition


U.D.O. - 24/7 - EP

AFM SG 095-5

Release Date: 27.06.2005

Format: CD


U.D.O. - Thunderball

AFM CD 077-2

AFM CD 077-9

Release Date: 29.03.2004

Format: CD/ Ltd. Digibook


U.D.O. - Thundervision

AFM DVD 077-5

Release Date: 15.03.2004

Format: DVD


U.D.O. - Nailed To Metal - Live Album

AFM CD 070-2

Release Date: 25.08.2003

Format: CD


U.D.O. - Nailed To Metal

AFM DCS 070-7

AFM DCS 070-8

Release Date: 28.05.2003

Format: DVD/ CD/DVD-Set


 


Pics 2013:

UDO_Promo2012-1.jpgUDO_Promo2012-2.jpgUDO_Promo2012-3.jpgUDO_Promo2012-4.jpg

Old Pics:

udo_02.jpgudo_03.jpgudo_04.jpgudo_06.jpgudo_07.jpgudo_08.jpgudo_11.jpgudo_12.jpgudo_13.jpgudo_22.jpgudo_23.jpgudo_24.jpgudo_26.jpgudo_27.jpgudo_28.jpgudo_30.jpgudo_31.jpgudo_32.jpgudo_42.jpgudo_43.jpgudo_44.jpgudo_51.jpgudo_52.jpgudo_53.jpgudo_55.jpgudo_56.jpgudo_58.jpg