Latest Release


Release : 2013-10-11

Media :


Vocalists :

Henning Basse

Ida Haukland

Matt Marinelli

Tezzi Persson

Tom Englund

Samuel Arkan - Virus IV

Julien Spreutels - Ethernity

Leo Margarit

Mike Lepond

Simone Mularoni

“Here we are after 1 year of composing, writing and 5 months of         
(Samuel Arkan)

The dark progressive/power metal project EPYSODE returns with its sophomore album “Fantasmagoria” on October 11th.

The successor to “Obsessions” (2011) was mixed and mastered by Jacob Hansen at Hansen studio in Denmark (Volbeat, Pretty Maids, Amaranthe a.m.m.)

Beside band leader Samuel Arkan, the following vocalists and musicians contribute to “Fantasmagoria”:

Tom S. Englund (Evergrey)
Henning Basse (ex-Metalium, ex-Sons Of Seasons, Mayan)
Ida Haukland (Triosphere)
Matt Marinelli (Borealis)
Tezzi Persson (Between The Silence)
Mike LePond (Symphony X)
Léo Margarit (Pain Of Salvation)
Julien Spreutels (Ethernity)
Simone Mularoni (DGM)

The quite unusual thing is that all these guests came to the Noise Factory studio (Belgium) to track down their parts. Nobody recorded his/her parts at home, like with some many other projects.

“I wanted the whole thing to get a real “band” feeling”, Arkan says. “Therefore having all vocalists and musicians here was very important to me. We got to know each other better and better while spending time together. The new material sounds very fresh, dark, heavy, modern and "true" with "straight in the face" guitar riffs, intense voices and melodies, massive work on progressive atmospheres and orchestral parts. All the artists who participated in this album gave their soul to it, gave their best, they travelled deeper into sensitivity and sincerity. That's probably the best words which define this next album... sincerity & spontaneity! This album comes from the heart of each musician and vocalist who worked on it, and you can feel it when you listen to this new EPYSODE album.”

Compared to the debut “Obessions” the new material is a step forward in every way, with even better songwriting, a massive sound, powerful production and an intensity you rarely find these days.
With the top notch vocalists that are gathered here (a.o. Evergrey’s Tom S. Englund, who is contributing to 5 songs) the “Fantasmagoria” concept story comes to life in a very intense and thrilling way, with lots of facets, expressive singing, deep & dark emotions. Englund’s duet with Ida Haukland (Triosphere) on the album’s title track especially gives goosebumps to the listener.
There is also a plot to the “Obsessions” album and many fans of concepts will have their pure delight in discovering the story behind the story.

The “Fantasmagoria” recordings took place from December 2012 to end of April 2013. Responsible for all keyboards, piano, arrangements was again Julien Spreutels, “my brother in crime, without him Epysode would not be as it is”, Samuel says. “He did one more time an outstanding job and gives magic to Epysode, It's always a pleasure and very inspiring to work with him”.


EPYSODE - Fantasmagoria

AFM 473-2

Release Date: 2013 October 11


EPYSODE - Obsessions

AFM CD 373-2

Release Date: 2011-08-26

Media: CD

Musicians 2013:

EY-F_Julien Spreutels_small.jpgEY-F_Leo Margarit_small.jpgEY-F_Mike Lepond_small.jpgEY-F_Samuel Arkan_small.jpgEY-F_Simone Mularoni_small.jpg

Vocalists 2013:

EY-F_Henning Basse_small.jpgEY-F_Ida Haukland_small.jpgEY-F_Matt Marinelli_small.jpgEY-F_Tezzi Persson_small.jpgEY-F_Tom Englund_small.jpg

Samuel Arkan 2013:


Musicians/Vocalists 2011:


iTunes Music