Mors Principium Est
Latest Release
Dawn Of The 5th Era

Dawn Of The 5th Era

Release : 2014-12-05

Media :


Ville Viljanen (vocals)

Mikko Sipola (drums)

Teemu Heinola (bass)

Andy Gillion (guitar)

Kevin Verlay (guitar)

 “Dawn Of The Fifth Era” is the fifth output of Melodic Death Metal band MORS PRINCIPIUM EST around vocalist Ville Viljanen.

Taking a look at the career of MORS PRINCIPIUM EST so far shows that the band easily attracted attention with each album. Already in the days of their debut “Inhumanity” (2003) critics were full of praise for the Finns, who still sounded fresh and made no secret of where their roots were. Comparisons to At The Gates, In Flames, Dark Tranquillity, or even the fellow-countrymen Children Of Bodom were common, but MORS PRINCIPIUM EST have never been characterized as just a mere clone of the above mentioned. Even when the follow-up albums “The Unborn” (2005) and “Liberation=Termination” (2007) were released, the names of  the scene pioneers were always at hand, but rather to show that this upcoming band is on a par with them. This positive response from the press helped to build a loyal fan base and establish the band internationally.

Since 2007 the band had to deal with several line-up changes, which almost lead to their disbanding and were the reason for the long hiatus. Over the following years they tried out different musicians and combinations, clearly intending to not let things end this way. In 2011 they found Andy Gillion from United Kingdom and Andhe Chandler from New Zealand as their new guitarists (selected from over 200 applicants). With this new line-up they recorded their previous album "... and Death said live”(2012).

However, another line-up change happened: Andhe Chandler left the band and Kevin Verlay came in as their new guitarist.

Now, in 2014 the band returns extremely impressive: brute and tremendous riffs meet beautiful melodies, which were recorded, mixed and mastered at well-known Panic Room Studios in Sweden (Scar Symmetry, Solution.45, Watain).

The cover artwork for Dawn Of The Fifth Era is by Alexander von Wieding (Tankard, Karma To Burn, VOLCOM, High Roller, SPV, Napalm).


AFM 509-2




MORS PRINCIPIUM EST - ...And Death Said Live

AFM 420-2

Release Date: 2012-Dec-14

Media: CD



iTunes Music